What is Your Story?

For those who are unsure whether TEDxRamallah was really worth the hype, I have yet another  blog post based on things I heard there.  Those who attended will likely find that I’m not really blogging about the speakers directly.  I may even have “missed their point” as it were.  But, what happened (and usually does) is that they brought to mind an idea.  They rather inspired a blog post.  I found the entire experience so enriching that I’m actually quite bummed that missed the registration for TEDxDead Sea.

Today is another of these expired by, if unrelated, TEDx posts.  As one of the speakers was talking, I was taken by the idea that each of us has a story.  Most of us fell, as I do, that our story isn’t really that interesting.  After all, we’re ordinary sorts, just like everyone else.  But, if I think about some of the stories that particularly moved me, they were about rather ordinary people as well.  Stories like Anne of Green Gables, The Secret Garden, Up a Road Slowly.  Each of these is about someone with whom I could identify.  Each one of the key characters is pretty ordinary.  These are not Madame Curie types.  They aren’t Mother Theresa.  They’re just people… living their lives.

The sad reality is that most of us never tell our story.  I don’t mean most of us never get up on a TEDx stage and talk about our story.  I mean, most of us only reveal our story to our friends in bits and pieces.  The things that formed us and made us who were are vignettes, little snapshots in time.  They are much like the snapshots of 1000 other people.  They aren’t particularly inspiring or out-of-the-ordinary.  But how they combine makes us who were are.  Through my blog, I let readers glimpse small parts of my story.  They get a sense of who I am and what makes me tick.  But even I don’t really tell my story.  One of these days I’ll write it all down.  Maybe one of these days I’ll talk it all out.  How about you?  What’s your story and how are you going to share it?

Happy Novels!

4 thoughts on “What is Your Story?

  1. Can’t wait for more of your story! I’ve loved every chapter so far.

    Hey, you’ve done such a great job blogging TEDx Ramallah, I sent a link over to the organizers so they can add it to their webpage 😉

  2. Thanks Kinzi. I’m enjoying living the chapters. One day soon I’ll write a bunch of them down.

    Thanks for the shout out. I just enjoyed the experience and it gave me such great inspiration that I’ve gone from a weekly blogger to a daily blogger. Of course, the danger is that I will run out of stuff to blog before too long ;).

  3. “What’s your story and how are you going to share it?”
    I am what others read in my blog. I also like to tell my story. But it seems people are not interested on the secret of graduate schools or American women living in Middle East kind of stories. People are interested on watching drunk Snooki and her friends cussing and fighting in a jacuzzi. Reality shows become the new stories nowadays. For people who have read a story from a book these televised stories make no sense. Yet, they are sold in millions. I am confused!

  4. Jaraad, you and me both. But you know, there are people who are interested. Maybe not everyone, maybe not even lots, but some and I’d rather have such wonderful readers who are interested than thousands who watch and cheer for me to fail, no?

Leave a Reply

