Foggy Brain Drain

I’ve been meaning to post wise insights (or silly ramblings) for a couple of days.  Don’t think it’s writer’s block… it’s not.  It’s actually more like allergy fog.  I’m not sure if that’s a bona fide medical issue, but it sure is a big problem for me just now.  As you may be aware, it is Jordan’s big allergy season.  Flowers are blooming, trees are budding, birds are singing, and noses are sneezing.  For two weeks, I’ve been stuffy headed.  My nose is runny (I have the permanent under-nose 11s), my eyes are watery, I’m perpetually sneezing.

Now, all of this I can live with.  The thing that’s killing me, though, is the interrupted sleep.  It’s been 2 weeks since I got a full night’s sleep.  I was waking up at 3 every morning.  Last night, it was every hour.  And, at 2, I had to get up to get water to soothe my poor achy throat.  And all of this lost sleep, this hazy crazy making time reminds me of something.  What was it?  Oh, yes, that’s right.  It reminds me of newborn baby-brained mom.  That’s right, that time when everything is a blur.

Examples would include the forgotten birthdays of dear friends, events I was supposed to attend, topics of conversation (after a 15 second pause, mind you).  really, I’ve forgotten things nearly every day.  Oooh, and the shortness of temper.  Tired = snappy mommy.  Should I have admitted that?  Well, it’s done now, we we’ll just go with it.  Thank goodness the Beans are so sweet and roll with the Mommy-punches.  At any rate, hopefully the haze will lift soon and the long (and increasing) list of topics I’d like to blog about will come back to my mind and abilities ;).

Happy Hazy Days!

One thought on “Foggy Brain Drain

Leave a Reply

