Ignorance Is Bliss?

So, typically I would say that ignorance is never bliss.  I tend to like to be “in the know”.  I enjoy finding out things and prefer to come into situations from a position of knowledge.  So, ignorance is clearly something to be avoided.  But, as my faithful three readers know, I’m a bit of a Discovery Channel junkie… I love all things Discovery.  There isn’t a channel of theirs I don’t watch, although my particular favorite is ID.  And the channels near them on our satellite get a boost because of their locale on the list.  After all, they say real estate is all about location, location, location.

Now Discovery Channel just launched a new slogan campaign.  I love the clever things that these cable channels come up with.  Many years ago, A&E in the US had a slogan of Time Well Spent.  I loved that.  So, when I saw the new Discover Channel slogan, I fell instantly in love.  It talks about the fact that there are many things man doesn’t know.  “We don’t know why were are here, or why we can only travel one way through time”, etc.  See the spot below.

The end line is the one that I love most… but “if we had all the answers, there’d be nothing left to discover: Ignorance is bliss.”  I have honestly never thought of it that way.  I’m a curious sort of person.  I like to understand why things work they way they do and how they work.  I love shows like How Things Are Made.  I think knowledge is wonderful.  And it is.  But, they’re so right, if there were nothing new to learn how boring would life be?

I think I’m going to embrace the things I don’t know and learn new and exciting things every single day.  Intentionally learn new things, that is.  Ignorance is bliss, indeed.

Happy Ignorance!

6 thoughts on “Ignorance Is Bliss?

  1. I wonder if you got a lot of that from me! I LOVE learning new things (don’t always like the feeling of not knowing, though), I want to know how things work and get real frustrated when something is broken and I can’t figure out how to make it work right again, or if someone else can’t, etc. Interesting. Thanks for this post. I like the Discovery Channel also. I have also been finding some interesting stuff on the History Channel as well. Ya’ll have a wonderful evening!

    • Of course I get life-long learning from you, MemeBean. Where else?! Talk about an excellent learning role model ;). Glad you’re enjoying my favorite channels as well.

    • It may be an even better reason NOT to. I can’t tell you how many hours of procrastination it causes. Although, the DVR feature does mean that I can record shows and watch them later when I would normally be watching TV. That’s a bonus…

  2. Back in the day, I used to work as a video editor working on Animal Planet shows which is part of Discovery Communications. Nice experience.

    From Discovery’s web page: Discovery’s First Docu-Series, BIG LAW: DEPUTY BUTTERBEAN
    How interesting.

Leave a Reply

