Spreading rainbows… not a Skittles commercial

A friend loaned me a book by Maya Angelou.  I haven’t read anything of hers previously.  Now, for years I’ve collected little bits and pieces of things I’ve read that really charged my imagination or touched me in some way.  Today, hat-tip to Maya Angelou for inspiring me to better than I am…  From her book, “Letter to My Daughter,” here’s a though on attitude.

You may not control all the events that happen to you, but you can decide not to be reduced by them.  Try to be a rainbow in someone’s cloud.  Do not complain.  Make every effort to change things you do not like.  If you cannot change them, change the way you have been thinking.  You might find a new solution.

Very insightful,  Try to be a rainbow in someone’s cloud.  I love that!  El 3atal has a cousin that could, I swear, find a cloud to go with every silver lining you could find.  So, the visual on this one is especially appealing.  I also love the admonition not to complain.  Take action, make a change.  Or, if you can’t make a change… change your attitude.  It’s amazing how often this works.

Sometimes the best solution is the one where we readjust our attitude and expectations.  And we often do find great solutions that way.  So, here’s to being a rainbow!

Happy silver linings!

 

4 thoughts on “Spreading rainbows… not a Skittles commercial

  1. Easier said than done considering where we are geographically. Even though I see more clouds, it;s hotter than July.

    • Joe, can’t disagree that it is much easier said than done. Although I see many philosophical clouds every day. For me, it’s about choosing how I will respond to them. Oh, and spreading rainbows.

  2. In addition to what Joe stated above I seriouslly doubt that Maya Angelou know anything about living in Jordan or what one needs to put up with in order for one to continue living in Jordan for an extended period of time.

    • Max, also true. But I can assure you that living as a black woman in the South was definitely no picnic. In fact, living anywhere… in America when she was growing up was not an easy thing. But I also see, based on friends and those around me, that your response to stimuli can define your happiness and your ability to spread rainbows ;).

Leave a Reply

