Milestones… what do they mean?

So, today is a pretty big milestone in the Bean family.  I, MommaBean, have a milestone birthday.  It’s pretty interesting.  El 3atal rather wanted to have a big party and invite all kinds of people and whatever.  Me, I’m not so into that.  Not because I’m unhappy about getting older, I’m not.  I just find that big parties often mean you spend very little time with the people you care about.  I’d rather see them in small groups or individually.  Maybe in another 10 years ;).  This year, we’re sticking to our schedule, having a fun summer play date with a fairly small group of Moms that I like and hanging out.

But, party aside, milestones are interesting things aren’t they?  I mean, today is great time to reflect on what I’ve done that I wanted to and what I’d still like to accomplish.  The Beans, while one of the significant lights of my life, are not all there is.  (Hear that mommys?)

One of things I’ve been wanting to do for about 10 years now is interview Hanan Ashrawi.  I’d like to hear more about what it was like to be the only female member of the Oslo negotiating team.  I’d also like to hear how she feels about what has happened to her home since then.  Does she find reasons for hope?  Is she positive about the future?  I think her perspective would be simply fascinating.  And I don’t mean that I want to interview her for an article or anything.  Really what I mean is that I’d like to meet her and have a conversation with her.  A nice cup of hot chocolate (in my case, I have no idea what she prefers) and some gab.  And, you know, a couple of weeks ago it occurred to me that I’ve lived here, virtually next door, for 5 years and never done anything about this.  I plan to remedy that, it’s one of those things I’d really like to do.  She may say no.  But, will I always kick myself if I don’t ask?

Another thing I’d like to do is write another novel.  Last year, for the first time, I participated in a program out of the US called NaNoWriMo.  It’s short for National Novel Writing Month.  It’s a great program that you can participate in online.  I did no research, no background work, nothing.  I just… wrote.  It was a great experience.  I’m not sure I’m overly happy with my novel (I haven’t read it since November when I wrote it), but the experience was excellent.  I find myself thinking of lots of ideas and really pulled to write a new one this year.  So, there’s number two.

The last thing I’m thinking about internally is pushing the Beans a bit about writing.  I want them to have and own their voice.  We may start a family of Bean blogs.  I’m not sure yet, but I’m thinking that on-line journaling may appeal to their creative side and give me the opportunity to help them develop their writing skills and their voice.  Now, I just have to get off of my rear-end and actually take action.

I’m going to write these items down and see, ten years from now, whether I’ve accomplished them.  Maybe by then one of the Beans will be a world-famous author.  Shoot, maybe I will be, teehee.  At any rate, don’t fear your milestones, celebrate them and use them as a time for reflection.

Happy Hopefulness!

8 thoughts on “Milestones… what do they mean?

  1. Last week was a milestone when my mother passed away. I was her primary caregiver after my father passed away in 2009. I’ve been here 11 years taking care of both of them. It was the best 11 years of my life. I celebrate their lives with every breath in my being. Now it’s time to evaluate, assess, and plan what to do next.

    Happy Birthday!

    • Joe, I’m so sorry to hear of your loss, but trust that you will find exciting opportunities for new adventures. It is excellent that you had some focused time to celebrate them. Thanks for your kind wishes for my birthday and I pray that your upcoming year will offer new blessings.

    • Wow, Joe, you have poured your life into your parents last days, That is just so honorable, so worth emulating – that is milestone-worthy. I am so sorry for your loss.

Leave a Reply

